Veg*nuary

**no animals were harmed in the making of this blog**

Vegan Cashew “goat cheese”/what I ate today

on January 3, 2013

Pinterest is a wonderful source for recipes. While searching for “vegan recipes”, I stumbled upon a recipe for vegan goats cheese. It was simple enough, and I made a note to get the required ingredients on my big Vegan shopping day.

I could cut and paste, and provide the recipe here, but since it’s not mine, I will just give you the link.

Source:http://spabettie.com/2012/08/17/vegan-goat-cheese-recipe/

It’s super easy and really tasty. It is not exactly like goats cheese, but it tastes amazing in it’s own right and fits in wherever you might put traditional goats cheese. I used a mason jar, which I boiled for 20 min to sterilize. I also added a little salt the next day when it was done.

What I ate today:

Breakfast Toast with cashew butter and banana, 1 large apple, chocolate almond milk

Lunch Arugula and tabouli salad with cucumber, “goats cheese”, red onion, and avocado dressing.

Snack I went to the movies this afternoon. I’m pretty sure I can have popcorn with no butter, but I decided on skittles and coke instead. This is only real “junk food” I have had in days. Honestly, it was disappointing and made me feel like shit. I got a headache, and didn’t finish either (Which isn’t really saying much.They were huge of course.)

Dinner Tofu Tostadas! These were fantastic. I sprayed a sheet pan with pam, put two tortillas on it, added a little olive oil, and salt and cooked them at 350 for about 10 minutes. I seared tofu in a pan and added some red onion rings right at the end. I assembled them with cilantro, avocado, salsa, lime and cashew cheese.

 Image

Snack Right now i am munching on some pineapple.

It’s only 8:30 but I am already in bed. My usual bed time is between 2am-4am because I work in a restaurant and often do night shifts. I have been very lucky to have started this little journey during an unexpected 4 day weekend. Which ends today. Tomorrow I go back to work in a restaurant that I love, but also one that is very  “meat-centric”. I will definitely be bringing my own food.

One response to “Vegan Cashew “goat cheese”/what I ate today

  1. Vegan goat cheese, how interesting! It was one of the few things I really missed (along with Greek yogurt). It even looks like the real deal!

Leave a Reply

