Veg*nuary

**no animals were harmed in the making of this blog**

Grilled pimento cheese sandwich- Vegan style

on January 7, 2013

IMG_20130107_161657

The restaurant I work at here in Ottawa is called Union Local 613. (www.union613.ca)  It’s a Canadian  twist on southern food, feature lots of meat, dairy, and eggs.  The dirtier the better.  The grilled pimento cheese sandwich has been on the menu since I started in the summer, and it was love at first bite when I tried it. I have eaten a lot of these.

While I did try the daiya cheese in my chili, it was a bit of a cop out. I mixed it in, and only put a little. Last night while cooking up a grilled cheese I decided I would try to vegan-ize this yummy dish. And that mean putting any weird feelings about pea protein cheese out of my mind and just going for it.

It was amazing. It didnt taste fake or weird or anything. It tasted like the original.  Mind blown.

Recipe!!

1/3 cup of daiya shredded cheddar ( I got it at the herb and spice. hartmans doesn’t carry it but I hear loblaws does.)

1Tbsp Veganisse. Or mayo if you just want a dairy free option and not egg free.

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

pinch of salt

Half of a roasted red pepper, diced. (I’m a dummy and did this in a pan. Don’t be dumb like me: put the pepper on a tray and broil in the oven. It should be black all over. Wrap it up in plastic wrap til cool. The skin should come off easily.)

Mixed everything together and spread on bread. I used rye but you can use what ever you want. Butter the out sides of the bread with vegan butter (I use earth balance.) Fry in a pan on medium heat. I feel like the daiya takes a little longer to melt than regular cheese. You can also pop it in the oven to finish.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

